AB 890 was signed into law by Governor Newsom on September 29, 2020. The law expands the role of nurse practitioners and allows them to practice independently without physician oversight. Currently, nurse practitioners may only certify disability after they have collaborated with a physician or surgeon. Beginning January 1, 2023, nurse practitioners will be able to certify disability after performing a physical examination.
Governor Ige signed HB 2148 on September 15, 2020 that amends the Hawaii Family Leave Act. The amended law expands the list for whom an employee may take family care leave (due to a serious health condition) to include an employee’s grandchild. The law is also amended by adding a new definition for “sibling” which means an individual who is a biological, adopted, or foster brother or sister; or a stepbrother or stepsister of an employee.
While the law was signed on September 15th, its effective date is July 1, 2020.
More changes are coming for New Jersey Temporary Disability Insurance (TDI) and Family Leave Insurance (FLI) starting January 1, 2021. The employee taxable wage base will increase to $138,200 while the employer taxable wage base will be $36,200. The maximum weekly benefit will jump to $903. In November 2020, the employee contribution rate and the employee annual contribution cap will be released. We’ll let you know once those numbers are available.
Labor Commissioner Val Hoyle issued permanent rule (BLI 7-2020) last month that allows Oregonians to continue to take Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA) protected time off to care for children whose school or childcare provider has been closed by a public official for a public health emergency. Leave would be tracked under the 12 weeks available to employees for sick child leave.
If you have any questions, please reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org.